State Lawmakers Seek to Extend Eviction Moratorium

On April 7, State Senators Brad Hoylman and Liz Krueger along with Assembly Member Jeffrey Dinowitz introduced the “Tenant Safe Harbor Act,” which would prohibit owners from evicting tenants for nonpayment of rent during New York’s current state of emergency and for six months after its eventual end. The bill is intended to postpone the inevitable rise in eviction cases once the current statewide moratorium on evictions expires in mid-June.

Full Article Access:

Full access to complete articles from New York Apartment Law Insider is for subscribers only.

Not yet ready to subscribe?